Killbear Provincial Park – Now featuring actual bears.

My girlfriend Tyler and I at Killbear.

My girlfriend Tyler and I at Killbear.

This past Labour Day long weekend, which has sadly now about two weeks past, Tyler and I decided to get out and go camping. But this time around we invited my brother and his girlfriend along. This was kind of a big deal, since my brother and I haven’t done anything like this since we were kids. It’s been years since we’ve been camping and even when we did as kids it was under the threat of disownment from our ever loving parents. Who to this day I’m convinced only took us camping in the hopes one or both of us would get lost in the woods and never come back. This logic of course makes sense to me as they’ve never gone camping since both of us got old enough to decline their invitations. But I’m digressing, back to Killbear Provincial Park. Again as per my usual style, l planned and booked last minute and manage to score the last campsite available in the entire park! Sweet! We got a site a Blind Bay B ground which was close to the water, but the site was kinda small and had little privacy. But who cares we got our site and it worked great! 

Tyler looking over Georgian Bay from the lookout point.

Tyler looking over Georgian Bay from the lookout point.

The view from near our campsite.

The view from near our campsite.

Everything was looking fantastic until the first night we got to know our neighbors who’d booked three campsite just down the road from us. They were loud, rowdy and drunk! Just plain unpleasant to be around. Several people in the area called the camp rangers on them as they were blasting music late at night, leaving food and beverages out in the open unattended and were just plain being rude and unpleasant. Gladly the rangers showed up took their speakers and forced them to bear proof their campsites. So that put an end to that, granted we had to yelled at them several times before hand to turn it down. On the bright side the weather was perfect that the first morning we were there I took the opportunity to get out for a little run towards the lighthouse point. I had the good fortune of running into a couple friendly deer and in retrospect I was lucky I didn’t meet any other furry friends as I forgot to bring by bear spray along.

Some friendly deer I ran into on my run.

Some friendly deer I ran into on my run.

For the duration of our stay besides seeing deer and chipmunks, none of us ran into any other wildlife. This is until my girlfriend and I decided to take a hike on the lookout trail. While I was distracted taking pictures (which can be found here), my girlfriend went just a bit ahead of me and boom just as we turned the corner on the boardwalk… A bear! A big bear! A not so friendly looking bear… Even though I’ve run into bears before, I have to admit I’ve yet to get used to it. Luckily the bear about about 25-30 feet away and we just backed away slowly and got out of the bears  sight and off the trail. Overall Killbear was just as amazing as I remember it, lighthouse point had just killer sunsets. I dragged my girlfriend out there as the sun was setting so I could get a few nice shots of the sun disappearing behind the islands on the Georgian Bay.

Georgian Bay skies are just unreal.

Georgian Bay skies are just unreal.

The Trail just before we ran into the bear. Sadly it wasn't on my mind to photograph him.

The Trail just before we ran into the bear. Sadly it wasn’t on my mind to photograph him.

I called this little guy Chip-Chip.

I called this little guy Chip-Chip.

The lighthouse.

The lighthouse.

Georgina Bay sunset.

Georgina Bay sunset.

Tyler standing in the sunset.

Tyler standing in the sunset.

I love these sort of views.

I love these sort of views.

Leave a Reply

