Salmon Fishing on the Don River

Spending a blissful afternoon on the Don river fishing.

Spending a blissful afternoon on the Don river fishing.

This Thanksgiving weekend has come and gone too quickly. The weather was beautiful and the colours of the leaves are just starting to turn to that perfect hue of brilliant reds and golden yellows. My girlfriend and I took the opportunity to get up north of the city and explore a bit of Caledon and the Credit River watershed. But more on that later, for now I want to post all about fishing!! Fishing is something that I’ve gotten back into this year after several years off, it’s a wonderful way to get out and explore the rivers around Ontario. And also a great excuse to get out of the house, not like I need another excuse to get outside but that is not the point.

My girlfriend Tyler not impressed with my fishing tried to push me into the river.

My girlfriend Tyler not impressed with my fishing tried to push me into the river.

Salmon jumping in the Don River.

Salmon jumping in the Don River.

Since it’s fall the Salmon season is upon us. That magical time of the year when you can witness monster fish brave inch deep water and battle treacherous rapids to do that one thing that comes instinctively to all of life’s creatures; reproduce. A salmon run is something to witness, and if you’ve never done so in Toronto area you can experience this phenomenon on the local rivers like the Humber, Credit, Rouge and even the Don. Yes that right, the Don river, the little trickle of water that flows next to the DVP comes to life, full of fish come September and October. It might be odd to imagine that the Don, a river not too long ago considered dead has migratory fish that spawn there. But it does, and it’s Salmon. The Toronto and Region Conservation has been working over the last decade or two in bringing this river and fish back to life and so far it seems to be working. Today I took advantage of that and went to explore the river looking for some Salmon, skeptically not expecting much.

A nice looking female with a belly full of eggs, probably 15-18lb in size.

A nice looking female with a belly full of eggs, probably 15 to 18 pounds in size.

A decent sized Chinook Salmon.

A decent sized Chinook Salmon.

I’m glad to say that my skepticism was unfounded. The river was full of fish, massive fish. I was at the Charles Sauriol Conservation Reserve for only about two hours and caught three decent sized Chinook Salmon, one of them being a female close to 20 pounds. The density of fish was quite impressive for a small river. The pool I was at had well over two dozen fish and it was a small pool of only about 10 square feet. The fish looked pretty healthy and had a good fight in them. It was fantastic to watch them jump on the line and run the rapids. I could have stayed there for hours running up and down the river fishing but I don’t think that my girlfriend would have enjoyed endless hours of watching me fish as I would have fishing. So in the end I left the Don river with a promise to return soon.

8 thoughts on “Salmon Fishing on the Don River

  1. Pingback: Day Hiking at Belfountain Conservation Area. | Ontario Camper

  2. Pingback: Don River Salmon Run is coming to a close. | Ontario Camper

  3. Pingback: Beavers on the Don River. | Ontario Camper

  4. The main problem lies in where the fungus is living: under the nail.

    If the injury is not severe, the recovery should
    be fast. Kidney failure is a concern among patients with this
    condition, and an early diagnosis is important to prolong the use of the kidneys.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Don River Salmon Run – 2016 Edition | Ontario Camper

Leave a Reply

