Late Fall at Albion Hills Conservation Area

22948663843_a279bda80c_k

The nearly Empty Lake Albion on the Humber River.

This past weekend I spent some time up at Albion Hills Conservation Area, in my opinion the finest conservation area under TRCA control. Now this is not me saying that all other conservation areas are poor, but just simply out of all TRCA properties this is my personal favourite. But I digress… I went up to Albion this weekend because they had a Fat Tire Bike demo day today. 

12348354_10156296674790066_1942073441_n

Me with the Fat Bike, a fun ride.

The event was held by the TRCA and a local bike shop to promote the start of fat bike rentals at Albion Hills. The staff were fantastic and even had a warm beverages and a firepit going all to enjoy. It’s been a little while since I’ve been around a outdoor fire and I have to admit the smell of burning wood in the crisp fall air is just mesmerizing. But back to the bike ride. I’m not much of a cyclist, I enjoy it but I’m not good at it. I don’t own a mountain bike only a road bike, but this opportunity was too good to miss. The bike is fun to ride but also a bit unwieldy, it’s heavier and not a nimble but it can break to a stop in no time. The tires, it’s biggest selling point go over just about any obstacle with ease. I enjoy huffing and puffing around the trail for about 30 minutes before I was too out of breath and rode back in. After the bike ride I spent some time exploring the conservation area.

23575778745_bf401b51c1_k

Humber river snakes through the mud plains of Lake Albion.

dI have not been to Albion Hills in about three years and the times that I’ve been there, it has never been this late in the year. One of my favourite places at Albion is the apply names Lake Albion. Lake Albion is artificial, a creating of the damming of one of the branches of Humber river and the natural build up of water. It’s small, winding and picturesque, I have vivid memories of paddling on it when I was younger. To my surprise when I arrived to the lake I was greeted with a field of mud, the dam had been let out and the lake drained to a trickle. All that had remained was the narrow river channel that slithers and wallows about the muddy estuary towards the dam. The sight was oddly desolate and grandiose in its splendor. 

Full photo album can be found here.

4 thoughts on “Late Fall at Albion Hills Conservation Area

Leave a Reply

