Summer of Grundy Lake Provincial Park

20744299696_49f2ef4fff_z

Camping at Grundy Lake Provincial Park

The plans for this summer’s camping season have been slowly unfolding. There is a big trip in the works to Northern Ontario and many smallers ones sprinkled throughout. But the thing that has me very excited is that I get to go to one of my favourite parks twice this summer (and possibly a third time in the fall), Grundy Lake Provincial Park. So in some respects this post is a short ode to Grundy, but with not so many words but with some photos from my last years trip there.

When it comes to Ontario parks, Grundy Lake isn’t exactly what comes to mind when you think of must see places. It’s a relatively small park on the side of highway 69 that encompases about a dozen small bodies of water. It’s a lovely park really, and I cannot put my finger on why but it’s my personal favourite. Out of all the parks I got to Grundy is always the one I yearn for year after year. Last year the girlfriend and I camped on Gurd Lake and had a fantastic site right on the foot of the beach. This year I’ve gotten a campsites on Clear lake and Gut Lake for the July and August long weekends. I’ve not been to Clear lake campground before but from the look over it, it is detached from the hussle and bussle of the main camping area which will lend itself to a quieter longweekend. And then there is Gut lake with its large cliffs just made for jumping. Finally there is a chance to get back there in the early fall to check out some canoe camping at the newly available canoe sites on Gurd and Pakeshkag lakes.

One thought on “Summer of Grundy Lake Provincial Park

  1. Pingback: Canada Day Long Weekend at Grundy Lake | Ontario Camper

Leave a Reply

