North Ontario Trip of 2016

DSC_0232_00023

Sleeping Giant under the moonlight.

I’m back in the city from the two week trip to Northern Ontario, well actually I was back earlier in the week but I’m only now getting around to the blog and the photos. Two weeks in the wild can lead to a lot of photos, approximately 1,700 in total. And boy this will lake some time to go through, edit, and upload. I think the best way I can tackle this trip is to divide it into several sections and write about each one independently according to the places I’ve visited during this trip.

  • Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park
  • Sleeping Giant Provincial Park
  • Ouimet Canyon Provincial Park
  • Neys Provincial Park
  • Pukaskwa National Park
  • Lake Superior Provincial Park

Above is just a few of my favourite shots I took from this trip. I’ve yet to get into the nitty gritty details of the trip and I will, but I just wanted to post a few photos from this incredible landscape. 

10 thoughts on “North Ontario Trip of 2016

  1. For me, the most striking photo is the one of Kakabeka Falls. I saw Kakabeka Falls once as a teenager when I was still living in Northern Ontario. The colour of the water never struck me as unusual … until I moved south and a friend referred to the ‘dark water’ of the north.
    Now I realize that colour – I believe from the iron in the rock – is distinctive of the Canadian Shield.

    This is a great photo which emphasizes that point! Look at how perfectly blue the water looks on the surface before it turns rusty as it tumbles over!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great point about the dark water. It must have something to do with the rocks and minerals. I’ve also been told it has to do with the plant matter because of the rock bottom it doesn’t settle well so its free floating. I’m not sure how true that is, but it’s something I’ve been told.

      Like

      • Interesting about the bottom. It’s one of the things I’ve always found rather disturbing about northern waters … that squishy bottom. If it’s *floating* that goes a long way to explaining that nasty (to me) texture.

        Like

  2. Pingback: Sleeping Giant Provincial Park | Ontario Camper

  3. It has to do with many factors I’m sure. The shield does not allow got good settlement. A clay and mud bottom does that well. Rock bottoms just force the sediment to sit pretty loosely on top.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Lake Superior Provincial Park | Ontario Camper

Leave a Reply

