Life as I know it, in the middle of nowhere

32582564505_a3d70a4401_z

My view on my evening walks.

Life is truly hitting normalcy, even for the fact that we’re in the middle of nowhere. For miles in all directions there is just hinterlands, vast unconquered acres of woodlands stretch as far as one can see. And in the middle of all of this wilderness; I sit, in a classroom, teaching kids. It’s a strange feeling to be surrounded by pure wilderness on a daily basis and know that all roads leads no where. I’ve walked all option and short cuts in this small town, they all circle around each other. All shortcuts and trails lead to the same place, here. Only on longer snowmobile excursions to go ice fishing do we really leave this area. That is not to say I’m complaining, it’s beautiful here. But I find myself wandering, my legs need it. At times I find myself walking the ice road for no other reason but to gain some distance beneath me. This is a place to feel truly alone, to feel as insignificant at a snowflake in a snowstorm. As I walk the ice road in the frigid weather, it’s easy to forget that I’m not on solid ground. Every so often a large crack in the ice grants me the ever so unsettling reminder that beneath me is a certain doom. This is an unforgiving place, the cold takes no prisoners.

12 thoughts on “Life as I know it, in the middle of nowhere

  1. Wow, Boris! From Trawna – the veritable “center of the universe” to “the middle of nowhere”…that’s quite the move! Where the heck are you? Pikanigikum? Sandy Lake? You’ve got to give us more clues!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very good sir, you’re a pro with the map. It’s pretty here as you can see. I’ve yet to explore the North of PQ but I hope I get the chance one of these days. Also further south is a relative thing up here. Thunder Bay is considered south. Never before in my life have I thought of Thunder Bay as being south.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful photos! I’ll bet those circular paths to nowhere open up to somewhere with a lot of possibilities when warmer weather arrives. Your teaching and living experience there sounds quite rewarding. Good luck, and keep us posted!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Northern Lights | Ontario Camper

  4. Pingback: The Frozen Kakabeka Falls | Ontario Camper

Leave a Reply

