Northern Lights

32617276256_bd66d04b06_z

The lights begin to appear in the sky.

There are some things in life that you just have to experience for yourself. For me one of those things has been the northern lights, or Aurora Borealis. They’ve eluded me thus far in my life. But I’d been up here in Northwestern Ontario for a month now and they’ve appeared three times. The first two were not all that impressive, a dull grey haze that slowly slithered just above the horizon. That is until the other night. I got a knock on my door from a co-worker telling the lights are out and naturally I made my way out in to the minus thirty something weather with my camera in hand. That is when nature decided to treat us all to a spectacular light display to rival any fireworks I’ve ever seen. Waved of various hues of green snaked and slithered their way across the night sky. We stood outside for as long as we could handle the frigid weather, watching the solar dance unfold. As per usual more pictures on my flickr.

7 thoughts on “Northern Lights

  1. As phenomenal as your shots are they still don’t compare to the live show do they? It’s simply an amazing site to see, isn’t it? Thanks for sharing!
    p.s. It kinda puts the pale green glow of the sky over Pickering to shame, doesn’t it 😜.

    Like

Leave a Reply

